DMV Hearings
DMV Hearings

DMV Hearings in Norfolk

Experienced Chesapeake DUI Lawyer

If you fail or refuse to take a breath test after you are arrested for DUI, than your license can be suspended immediately. You will be issued a temporary license that expires within 30 days. If you are arrested for DUI, it is imperative that you take the necessary steps to begin fighting for your driving privileges!

In Virginia, you have to schedule a DMV hearing within 10 days of your arrest. If you do not do so, your license can be suspended for a year or longer, depending on whether any aggravating factors existed and whether or not this is your first or subsequent DUI charge within the past 10 years.

We understand that losing your driving privileges affects your livelihood, your family and your future. At Curcione Law, we can file the necessary documents to request a DMV Hearing on your behalf. A DMV Hearing provides you with the platform you need to have your license suspension overturned.

Why hire a DUI attorney to represent you?

It is recommended that you secure the assistance of an aggressive DUI attorney immediately after you have been charged with DUI as it is very difficult to represent yourself in a DMV hearing. The more comprehensive your knowledge of Virginia DUI laws, the arrest process and what your rights are, the better your chance of overturning your license suspension. At a DMV hearing you will get the chance to cross-examine the arresting officer and prove to the DMV official acting as judge of the hearing why you deserve to have your driving privileges restored.

Questions that the DMV official will ask you can include the following:

  • Were you driving a vehicle at the time of your arrest?
  • Were you legally stopped (was their probable cause)?
  • Were you legally arrested?
  • Was your BAC level above the legal limit?
  • Did you take field sobriety tests and/or a chemical test?

At a DMV hearing, you can present your own evidence and your own witnesses to validate your claim that you deserve to have your driving privileges restored. The hearing officer will decide whether your license should be restored based upon your arguments; sometimes the officer will announce his/her decision right away or something he/she will delay to give his/her announcement for several days.

By hiring Curcione Law, you will get to benefit from Attorney Matt Curcione's past experiences as a police officer. This knowledge can provide you with the leg up at your hearing. Mr. Curcione will be able to investigate all of the details surrounding your case fully and will be able to craft the most compelling defense for you. Don't delay in securing the aggressive defense you deserve on your side and for the chance you need to fight back for your driving privileges!

Contact Curcione Law today at (757) 777-9207!